Sunday, June 23 2024

Morphou Mayor elected Vice President of Council of European Municipalities and Regions

Mayor of occupied Morphou Victoras Hadjiavraam has been elected Vice President of the Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR).

A press release by the Municipality says that the election took place yesterday. Hadjiavraam will be responsible for the section of the local authorities of the Easterm Mediterranean region.


CEMR was founded in Geneva in 1951 and has members from more than 35 countries, which represent more than 10,000 local authorities. Cyprus has been a member since 1990. The tripartite Cyprus group comprises Morphou mayor, Pahos mayor Phedonas Phedonos and Lakatamia Councilor Andri Michalia.

CEMR promotes the construction of a united, peaceful and democratic Europe founded on local self-government, respect for the principle of subsidiarity and the participation of citizens. Its work is organised around two main pillars thus influencing European policy and legislation in all areas having an impact on municipalities and regions and providing a forum for debate between local and regional governments via their national representative associations.

CEMR is also the European section of the world organisation United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG), through which we represent European local and regional government on the international stage.